1 September 2015, Oakland California Mission

Hello there!!! 🙂

This week has been a wonderful adventure!

I feel very blessed to be able to serve here in Oakland California/San Fransisco mission. I love our Mission President, President Frandsen and Sister Frandsen very much! They are full of ideas on how to improve and progress as missionaries in this mission. This is their home…

Sister Krylborn, Jarvi, Thomas, Liu, Chazen and I. Waiting to go to the Salt Lake City Airport! :)
Sister Krylborn, Jarvi, Thomas, Liu, Chazen and I. Waiting to go to the Salt Lake City Airport! 🙂

My companion is Sister Brown from Alabama/all over! (Her family travelled a lot in the military.) I love her and I know that we are supposed to be together right now. She is a wonderful missionary. She is very loving, hard working and obedient in all things. She is teaching me how to be an Oakland California missionary. She has been so patient with me as I have adjusted to serving here. There is so much to learn from her example :).

Sister Brown and I have been working hard to organize our apartment and our area book. Paper area books take a lot of time and love! Our Zone focus this week is gaining the trust of the members. Sister Brown and I have made plans to gain the trust of the Lord and the members by: striving to be exactly obedient, being on time to appointments, serving the members through action and prayer, teaching them doctrines of the gospel at every opportunity.

There is a lot of work to do here in Concord 1st Ward. I’m so thankful for the vision Sister Brown has given me for the ward. Brother Cook, the Ward Mission Leader is amazing! He is a leader by example. He often teaches members and investigators with us. He loves Jesus Christ and His Church, and He shows that love by devotion and service. I’m excited to serve along side the Cook family! :))

It has been a special experience teaching investigators and members in their home. There are many members here who are going through immense challenges. I am thankful for the Priesthood power that blesses and administers comfort to our brothers and sisters – not just in Concord, but to people all around the world.

1 Nephi 14:14 “And it came to pass that I, Nephi, beheld the power of the Lamb of God, that it descended upon the saints of the church of the Lamb, and upon the covenant people of the Lord, who were scattered upon all the face of the earth; and they were armed with righteousness and with the power of God in great glory.”

The same authority that Jesus Christ has was given to Joseph Smith by John the Baptist and Peter, James and John. Because God loves us, He has blessed us with a Prophet on the earth today. His name is Thomas S. Monson. He holds the Priesthood authority of God. It is here to bless us and to provide a way for us to be with our Heavenly Father again :)).oakland mission

I know that Jesus Christ lives. I know that Heavenly Father loves us and has a plan for each and every one of us. The Lord will do all that He can to help us return to Him again. I know that I am supposed to be here at this time. I pray that Heavenly Father will help me to do all that He desires of me.
Have a wonderful and uplifting week! Enjoy every moment…even the challenges :)).
Much love,

Sister Lyreche Tata

 

Leave a Reply

