Friday 19th June 2015

Hi Everyone,

My week was really great! I’m glad to hear you all had a good week!

Today I actually met Matthew Tarawa 🙂 he said that he is your cousin Mum. He is a lovely person. He reminded me of Dad a little. Partly because he was wearing the same cologne as Dad, he has a strong accent, and mostly because of his love for the God and the Gospel of Jesus Christ. :))

We spoke about our family, the gospel and missionary work. All of his 5 children have served missions. A mission has been a blessing to me and I pray and hope that this mission experience is bless you all at home :)). You are all an immense support and I thank Heavenly Father for blessing me with righteous parents. I have been born of goodly parents. 🙂

My companion, Sister Marroquin is becoming a more Christlike missionary every day :). Heavenly Father is teaching her so much and she is a huge blessing to me in our companionship.  She is really improving with her English skills, and she is a lot more confident now.

I think I will go outbound in August :). We usually go about half way in our mission, so I think I will go after my 12 Weeks with Sister Marroquin. The Sisters who went outbound loved their experience! I have heard some exciting things so I am looking forward to it!!

The highlight of my week was our Relief Society lesson, it changed my whole perspective of my mission on Temple Square.  Our lesson was about setting goals and making plans with the Lord to achieve those goals.

Joseph Smith teaching relief society
Joseph Smith teaching the relief society

Elder M. Russell Ballard said, “I am so thoroughly convinced that if we don’t set goals in our life and learn how to master the techniques of living to reach our goals, we can reach a ripe old age and look back on our life only to see that we reached but a small part of our full potential. When one learns to master the principles of setting a goal, he will then be able to make a great difference in the results he attains in this life.” Finally, I understand, even if just a little bit, the importance of making goals and plans.

Sister Desjourdy, Evangelista, Dufour and Ngwenya invited us to make an individual Mission Micro Plan. There are four categories to this specific plan –

  • Who am I right now?
  • What I need to stop doing?
  • What I need to start doing.?
  • Who I want to become?

When I come home from my mission in Temple Square, I want to feel that I did my best. I want to feel that I became more like my Savior and didn’t just do missionary things. I made a Micro plan with Heavenly Father this week and I want to share some of it with you.

Who I want to become?   I want to be someone who God can trust and rely on. Trustworthy and loyal to the Lord, my Mission President, my companion, investigators, members and my family. I want to have an increased testimony of the power of the Book of Mormon. I want to be able to put the Lord first with more ease and humility. I want to memorize and recite powerful scripture passages.

Relief society building - Resouce centre, GIANT scripture set
Relief Society building – Resource Centre, GIANT scripture set

I know that through the Lord’s help we can do all things, with His guidance, we can BECOME more like Him. One very admirable Prophet in the Book of Mormon is Nephi, Lehi’s son. The scripture that I am memorizing this week is 1 Nephi 3: 7. Nephi obeyed with with exactness the commandments of God – and he did it with a humble and meek attitude. He understood that God’s only purpose is to bring us eternal life – which is everlasting happiness with the people we love. I know that God knows what is best for us.

Apply this scripture to yourself and let us strive to be a little more like Nephi this week :).

1 Nephi 3: 7 “And it came to pass that I, _________, said unto my father: I will go and do the things which the Lord hath commanded, for I know that the Lord giveth no commandments unto the children of men, save he shall prepare a way for them that they may accomplish the thing which he commandeth them.”

I love you all

Sister Lyreche Tata

Leave a Reply

