Saturday 30th May 2015 – Brand new companion

Saturday 30th May 2015 – Brand new companion

Hi Mum, Dad and Family! 😀

My companion is Sister Marroquin from Guatemala! 😀 She is great! I love her very very much! She has a beautiful testimony and understanding of the gospel. She came on her mission pre trained! I’m not training her. 🙂

Sister Marroquin from Guatemala

Sister Marroquin is so loving. She makes me breakfast even when I have already eaten haha.  When the new sister missionaries came, before our companions were announced, Sister Marroquin told us that she wanted a trainer who would be 1. Patient with her and, 2. Loving.  I am trying my best to be that for her. She knows only a little English – so she is teaching me some spanish so we can help each other understand better. She is so sweet – sometimes its hard for her. She wants to speak with me more and others more but does not feel confident with her English. She is a powerful missionary. She has a pure and simple testimony and I’m grateful for the opportunity to be her companion.

I have been so spoiled this transfer! 🙂

Sister Marroquin and I are living in a beautiful new apartment.  Its so nice – we have a beautiful view of Salt Lake, a gym, our own bathroom… 5 star missionary living haha. I don’t know what I did to deserve these blessings. We are very very blessed.

It has been an exciting week!  I am looking forward to serving with my new companion Sister Marroquin and I feel extremely blessed to be her companion at this time. She is a wonderful missionary! She really came on her mission pre trained. Heavenly Father has prepared Sister Marroquin in the pre-existance to serve this mission. She is so ready to work and willing to do the Lord’s will.
statue-of-restoration-of-the-melchizedek-priesthood-temple-square-salt-lake-city-utah-usa
This afternoon we met a woman at the Priesthood Statues.  We had not planned to walk by that way, but we felt prompted that we needed to speak with someone there.  This woman was just walking through Temple Square because she finds peace and solace here. She recently moved to Salt Lake City from Virginia. She said she always wanted to Salt Lake City and a job offer here made it easier for her to come.  We asked her if she was familiar with missionaries like us. She said she was. In fact, she said she feeds missionaries often!  She proceeded to explain that she was a member of the Church when she was younger, but some things happened in her life and she left the Church.  She has two beautiful teenage girls and she wants to be with them for all eternity. She expressed to us that she knew that The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints was true. She had a testimony of that. But she is afraid to come back to Church because of mistakes she has made in the past. We shared with her that Jesus Christ sacrificed His life so that we could repent and be forgiven of our mistakes. We testified of the Plan of Salvation and that this time is but a small moment in eternity.

The blessings of eternal life will be more marvellous and rewarding than struggle that comes from changing.  Sister Marroquin turned to a scripture in 2 Nephi 31: 20 which reads,

“Wherefore, ye must press forward with a steadfastness in Christ, having a perfect brightness of hope, and a love of God and of all men. Wherefore, if ye shall press forward, feasting upon the word of Christ, and endure to the end, behold, thus saith the Father: Ye shall have eternal life.”

Sister Marroquin bore powerful, simple testimony of God’s love, the plan of happiness and the Atonement of Jesus Christ.  The Spirit edified us all.

We invited her to go to Church on Sunday and meet with her Bishop. He will help her to get onto the path that will bring her and her family home to our Father in Heaven.  I pray that this woman will remember the feeling she had here on Temple Square.

Temple-Square1

Every single person we meet and see on Temple Square has personal challenges.  If we don’t take the time to stop and get to know their stories – we will miss an opportunity to uplift and strengthen them.  I love Sister Marroquin. She is struggling to speak the English language but she speaks beautifully the language in which the Spirit can testify. As she speaks the words the Lord puts into her mouth, she will be a tool to bless many, many lives.

Bishop McDonald! Or Uncle Haki! Haha he’s the Bishop of a YSA Ward near by. It was wonderful meeting him and a privilege to speak in their ward.  He did serve in New Zealand! In fact, his last area was Judea! He speaks Maori quite well – I was so impressed.  I told Bishop that I feel more confident singing than speaking, so he invited me to sing.  I sung I Stand All Amazed for him and the YSA. At the closing remarks, Bishop said that the most memorable and powerful testimony meeting he was at was in New Zealand. At that testimony meeting a Maori woman got up and sang I Stand All Amazed and said “that is my testimony.”

worthen bishopI pray that I will be the patient and loving companion that she expects and hopes me to be. Thank you for your prayers and words of encouragement! I love you family and I look forward to hearing how you are growing in the gospel :).

. I wish you were here to meet my companion! 🙂

I love you very much :)).

Love,

 Sister Tata

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

