Friday 15th May, Happy mothers day :)

Hello family and friends! 🙂

My week was fantastic!  Here is a quote from President Ezra Taft Benson that expresses exactly how I am feeling. “Don’t worry about being successful. We are going to be successful—there is no doubt about it. The Lord has sent us to earth at the time of harvest. He does not expect us to fail. He has called no one to this work to fail. He expects us to succeed.”
 Sister Oh from Korea
At times on my mission I have felt like I have been unsuccessful. I know we all feel unsuccessful or regret at some point in our lives. Speaking with my family over Mother’s Day was a huge blessing for me! It put everything into perspective. I love my precious Mother, April. Mother and Mother’s around the world – thank you for your selfless service. Mother, you are the most gracious and person I know. I admire you I hope that one day I can be even half of the Mother that you are to me. 🙂

MOthers day quote

As I spoke with my family – I missed them. But I realized they are there and they will always be there for me. I have let my mind turn to my home perhaps too many times. After speaking with them, I felt that this is exactly – exactly, where I want to be. I want my heart and mind to be on this mission. There is nothing to miss from serving a mission – but so much to give and to gain. After that phone call I rededicated myself to serve with ALL my heart, might, mind and strength. The Lord deserves no less.

Sis Oh said this says 'Long time no see' in Korean :) see loves it
Sis Oh said this says ‘Long time no see’ in Korean 🙂 see loves it

Some great Book of Mormon missionaries taught us how we can always have the Spirit with us.

  • Helaman 3: 35, “Nevertheless they did fast and pray oft, and did wax stronger and stronger in their humility, and firmer and firmer in the faith of Christ, unto the filling their souls with joy and consolation, yea, even to the purifying and the sanctification of their hearts, which sanctification cometh because of their yielding their hearts unto God.”

I wanted to purify my heart. I decided to fast and pray. I wanted to know what I could do to help our companionship and to help the Lord in His missionary work.
On Sunday, my prayers were answered. Sitting in sacrament meeting, the Spirit told me that I needed to focus deeper on my missionary purpose. There are many good things that we can do as missionaries, some of these good things include: learning a language (I was learning Maori on p-day), watching Mormon messages on the I-pad, browsing on LDS.org. I was spending time doing good things which took me away from the best activities. Such as, studying Preach My Gospel, text messaging investigators, taking tours on Square if I finish a meal early. I can do those good things after my mission.  Now is the time to give my all to the best things!

I also received some advice from my District Leader, Sister Ryan. Be accountable and review goals and plans regularly. As Sister Lee and I have been mission focused, and have been accountable to the Lord, we have seen miracles!

The Lord blessed us with five new investigators to teach. I am humbled that he trusts me with his children. We met Bai on a motor coach tour. She was very interested in our religion. While she has been studying in America, she has become more familiar with God. Bai asked for a copy of the Book of Mormon and we set an appointment to call her. We called her yesterday and she read the introduction to the Book of Mormon! We discussed prayer and we taught her how to pray and the importance of praying sincerely. After we discussed the “how”, she asked if she could say a prayer with us! She asked Heavenly Father to please let her know if what we were teaching her was true. She has such pure faith.

Sister Melone, Oh, David, Rangel and I - our Korean pose.
Sister Melone, Oh, David, Rangel and I – our Korean pose.

Sister Lee met Michael through an inbound call earlier in the week. He called in for a Bible and mentioned that he was planning on attending Church this coming Sunday with his room mate, James. We called Michael yesterday and James was home with him. We taught together the Restoration of the Gospel of Jesus Christ, James bore heart felt testimony. We invited Michael to be baptized and he accepted. Michael plans to attend Church on Sunday and meet the local missionaries! Yay! :))

We have taken so many Chinese groups on tours this past transfer! I love Chinese motor coaches. Sister Lee reminded me that we are living the Prophet Alma’s dream! In Alma 29: 1, Alma expresses – “O that I were an angel, and could have the wish of mine heart, that I might go forth and speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people!”  Our trump is a microphone and we have the opportunity to bear testimony and cry repentance to hundreds of people every single day.  The Lord is so wonderful. He does not need missionaries – rather we need the experience of being missionaries.

I know, when we set inspired goals – God will provide a way for us to succeed. Through God we really can do all things! I know that He does not want us to fail, but to succeed gloriously.

Succeed gloriously and accomplish the dreams that you have. 🙂

 Much love,

Sister Lyreche Tata

Leave a Reply

