9th May 2015.

Hi Mum and Dad! 🙂

I have seen God touching every aspect of my mission. I experience God leading me by the hand to know who to speak with. In tours and lessons, the Spirit whispers what to say, where to go and what to do.  I see the Lord’s hand in the buildings and the gardens.  I see His hand when I speak with other missionaries and our visitor’s – we are all His children. He created us in His image. I know this to be true. As we take a moment and ponder on the truth that God is our Creator – we will see Him in everything good.

As Alma explains,”…The scriptures are laid before thee, yea, and all things denote there is a God; yea, even the earth, and all things that are upon the face of it, yea, and its motion, yea, and also all the planets which move in their regular form do witness that there is a Supreme Creator.”Alma 30: 44.

On Saturday, Sister Sami (from Fiji) and I exchanged while our companions were in a Mandarin meeting.  Our assignment was in the Tabernacle with our senior couples, Elder and Sister Burton.  I love the Tabernacle!

  The beauty of that building is not the structure, craftsmanship or the organ. The beauty comes from knowing of the sacrifices of our pioneer brothers and sisters. It comes from the reality that Prophet’s of God spoke His word from that pulpit.

While Sister Sami and I were in the Tabernacle, Sister Burton told us her story.  Sister Burton is a missionary on Temple Square and a wonderful genealogist. Sister Burton always wanted to serve a mission. Right before her 21st birthday she met and married her sweetheart, Elder Burton.  Sister Burton expressed to us the challenges she went through in her life.  No matter what challenges she had – she always trusted in the Lord. She does so much Family History and Temple work! She is helping God do work here and on the other side of the veil! The Burton family are wonderful examples – we are immensely blessed because of their service.  Its wonderful to be able to work along side our Senior Couples!  Sister Burton reminded me, that we can do all things through Jesus Christ.

Sister Lee and I were able to finally have a lesson with our investigator Ismael!  After months of trying to call and contact him we finally talked with him again this week!  Ismael was so happy to hear from us! We reviewed the Restoration with him and he asked for a Book of Mormon! We invited him to meet with local missionaries and they are finally in contact with him. He asked us if we could call while his mother is home so we can teach her also..ahh! We love Ismael! And he loves God so much! I have a hope that he will come to know that the Book of Mormon is true. Because he needs the gospel of Jesus Christ in His life. His family needs it. Because through this gospel, he can be happy and return to be with God again. Sister Lee and I are being blessed with many new people to teach this week.  I am thankful that the Lord trusts me enough to represent Him. “I am called of God…He has chosen me to represent Him. To stand in his place. To say and do what He, Himself, would say and do if He were personally ministering to the very people to whom He has sent me. My voice is His voice and my acts are His acts..My commission is to do what He wants done.”

What is my reward then? Verily that, when I preach the gospel, I may make the gospel of Christ without charge, that I abuse not my power in the gospel. For though I be free from all men, yet have I made myself servant unto all, that I might gain the more.” 1 Corinthians 9: 18-19.

  Jesus Christ came into the world to serve. We are here to serve God and our neighbor. 🙂

Love,

Sister Lyreche Tata

Leave a Reply

