Sat 4th April 2015 – General Conference and Easter Weekend!

I love this quote from Hymn number 117, “Come unto Jesus,” it reads; “Come unto Jesus, ye heavy laden, care worn and fainting, by sin oppressed. He’ll safely guide you unto that haven, where all who trust Him may rest.”

This Easter weekend we ponder the sacrifice, death and joyous resurrection of Jesus Christ. Christ experienced all the guilt, pain, grief and sorrow of all mankind.

John 15:13, “Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.” 

 Because of Jesus Christ, we do not need to go through life full of sorrow. “Because He lives” we can receive forgiveness and our burdens can be made light. “Because He lives”, death has no sting. I miss my Papa, but I know that because Christ lives, there is more to life. Heavenly Father has a perfect plan, and that plan includes us being with our families for all time and eternity. I look forward to hearing my Papa sing and tell jokes again. 🙂brodies

This week I have learned that my weaknesses are not sins. On my mission I am learning more about myself. Who I am, what my identity is, what my strengths are and what my weaknesses are.

I love the scripture in Ether 12: 27, “And if men come unto me I will show unto them their weakness. I give unto men weakness that they may be humble; and my grace is sufficient for all men that humble themselves before me; for if they humble themselves before me, and have faith in me, then will I make weak things become strong unto them.”

Weaknesses are given to us by God. They allow opportunity for growth and personal development. The April 2015 Ensign reads, “Sin is a choice to disobey God’s commandments or rebel against the light of Christ”, while weakness is the limitations that come with being human. We can grow and overcome our weaknesses as we are humble, have faith and rely on the Lord. I am thankful for all the people who have corrected me and who will correct me in the future. I love receiving correction now, because it helps to refine me!

General Conference and the Easter falls on the coming weekend. Sister Fingerle and I are blessed to attend the Saturday morning session of conference. Twice a year, members of the Church gather together to listen to the words of a living Prophet and the leaders of the Church. I look forward to listening to the Lord’s appointed Prophets and Apostles. I know that Thomas S. Monson is Heavenly Father’s living Prophet today. I sustain and support him. I look forward to receiving revelation and I look forward to hearing others receiving revelation too. I invite you, to think, if Jesus Christ was here, what would you ask Him? Write that question down, and ponder it while you listen to conference. God can and will answer your questions over General Conference if you seek for those answers.

brodies

   Stake President, Brodie and the Brodie’s in Temple Square for Conference!

 I was blessed to see Chloe Phillips from home and also the Lekias whanau! Brother and Sister Lekias dropped me off some cherry ripes and crunchie bars! I don’t have a photo with them, but I will find them again… This Conference is going to be great! :))

Love,

Sister Tata

Leave a Reply

