10th April 2015 – Conference Update

Hi Family and Friends! ​

Sis Fingerle and I, Saturday morning session

 

On Saturday morning, I sat in the Conference Center and eagerly awaited the arrival of our dear Prophet, President Thomas S. Monson and his two counselors, President Henry B. Eyring and Dieter F. Uchtdorf. As I looked to the pulpit, I noticed one of the woman leaders stand up. Seconds after, tens of thousands of God’s children stood in awe and reverence as the First Presidency of Christ Church took their seats. The Spirit filled my soul, and I knew that these men and women are called of God. They represent Christ on earth. ​ I was so blessed to be able to listen to God’s appointed leaders.

sat morning

I loved Linda K. Burton’s counsel about the importance of family unity. Families are not a creation of mankind, but it is a creation from our loving Heavenly Father. I love my family and I know they are a gift from God Himself. Sister Burton said, “Thee lift me and I’ll lift thee, and we’ll ascend together.” Heavenly Father created men and women different. None are less important than the other. Like the man and woman is nothing without each other, a missionary is nothing without a companion and the Holy Ghost. I am learning to love my companion’s more. I need my companion. Heavenly Father never intended us to be alone in this mortal journey. We have family, friends, companions and the Holy Ghost to helps us to endure and enjoy through life. I felt peace and strength as I studied Elder Dale G. Renlund’s talk called, “Latter-day Saints Keep on Trying”. Elder Renlund expressed, “…God cares a lot more about who we are and who we are becoming than about who we once were. He cares that we keep on trying.” I am so grateful that through God I can change who I was and who I am. I really enjoyed the experience that Elder Michael T. Ringwood shared about when he was serving as a young missionary. He noticed that one missionary was more successful that other missionaries perceived him to be. He received some wise counsel from his Mission President, who told Elder Ringwood – “Heavenly Father knows this young man is a successful missionary, and so do I. And now you know too, so who else really matters?” Many of the good things we do will only be recognized by our Heavenly Father. And if Heavenly Father can look down upon us with a smile, then what else is important?

sister parish

​Sister Parrish from Aussie 🙂

On Saturday we met two women visiting for General Conference. One woman shared her story with us. She was not going to come to General Conference because of some trials that were going on in her life. She decided to come anyway. She expressed to us that many of her pleas and prayers were answered through the speakers at conference. After our conversation, she was able to see that many of her trials were blessings in disguise and her family were more united because of those trials. I am so glad that I met them both. I know that we needed to speak with them. On Sunday morning, during the Music and the Spoken word broadcast, Sister Fingerle felt prompted to speak with a woman, sitting alone near the Seagull Monument. This woman looked hurt, tears in her eyes and mascara wiped. I looked at her, the words “You can change” caught my attention on her mobile screen. This daughter of God needed to know that God loved her. That the Atonement of Jesus Christ was real. It can change her. As we left her, her countenance was changed and there was hope in her eyes. ​ As Sister Fingerle were humble and prayerful we were lead to people who we needed to speak with. We were edified together as we spoke with the visitor’s on Temple Square this week.

What an amazing week , Sister Tata x

fingerlye
Sis Fingerle represents, im her biggest fan 🙂
polanco guatemala
Sis Polano from Guatemala. I love her so much, she reminds me of Azra 🙂
sami from fiji
Sis Sami from Fiji, eating yummy Farrs icecream!!
Dinner served by Salt Lake Stake! So spoiled. Thank you lovely members! :)) Singing “Called to Serve”.
leonardo and fingerle
Leonardo was at Conference… Stopping off at Utah on the way home to Mexico
dicent, atchu fingerle
Sister Dicent from Dominican Republic, Sister Atchu from India and Sister Fingerle from Germany

conference dinner salt lake stake

Leave a Reply

