23 December 2014, Almost Christmas!!..

Sister Barros and I at Music and the Spoken Word – we caught the last of the Christmas program! They were amazing…I had goosebumps all the way through!
Another week has passed, can you believe it? Our week was so busy! This week we had zone conference, exchanges with District Leader, family Christmas dinner, Music and the Spoken Word…time flies when you are doing something you love.
My highlight this week was Zone Conference and the Living Christ Testimony Meeting.
In Zone Conference we had training from President Poulsen and our leaders. I was privileged to sing as a musical item 🙂 I sung ‘Peace, Peace, Peace’ from Sally DeFord with Sister Radamason from Africa. With sister Garcia on the Violin. They sing and play beautifully :).
48% of the current missionaries serving in Temple Square will be going home in the next 3 months…the training we received was held to help us become more consecrated missionaries and is preparing us, the newer sisters to step up and be leaders.
The assistant to the president, Sister Taito gave some powerful counsel – she asked, what is stopping you from crossing the line and being ALL in? What’s is stopping you from being a consecrated and powerful missionary? And whatever is stopping you, get rid of it. Now is the time for you to step up. I loved that.
My biggest struggle has been learning to be a consecrated and selfless missionary…I found this quote from President Gordon B. Hinckley “He who lives only unto himself whithers and dies, while he who forgets himself in the service of others grows and blossoms in this life and in eternity.” What I am going to do starting the next fast Sunday is fast and pray to know what is holding me back from being a consecrated missionary. I will make a list of those things – and then go 40 days without them. After those 40 days I will see if sacrificing these things have helped me become a more consecrated missionary :).
Something I learned from Jesus Christ’s example is that He only came to earth to live for others. He didn’t come here for Himself. He was never ever worried about His needs. Christ faced outward. Before my mission I was selfish.. and I am still working on not being selfless…but why a mission is so hard is that a missionary is for a short time living as the Savior lived. We are living for others.
Now, I am so preoccupied with the salvation of others, and helping others that I don’t have time to worry about my self. We grow most when we are helping others. 🙂
Room-mate, Sister Sonku from Cape Town South Africa and I. Our Christmas corner :)
Room-mate, Sister Sonku from Cape Town South Africa and I. Our Christmas corner 🙂
Christmas is near! Let’s us all remember Jesus Christ everyday of the year. “For God so loved the world that He gave His only Begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him shall not perish but have everlasting life.” Merry Christmas to you all. As we focus our thoughts on Jesus Christ, our Christmas will not only be richer, our lives also.
There is a film here in temple square called God’s Plan for His Family – the film was inspired from the Family a Proclamation to the World. Because the family unit is so important, people who watch the film always feel the Spirit and feel emotional.
Wholesome recreational activities is something we are good at as a family and I love that :). We watch rugby together, watch movies, family holidays, 4×4 driving. I know these things are what helps to unify our family :).
What’s perhaps something that us as a family can do to be more unified?
I want us all, as a family this Christmas to think of something that we can do to better, and then let’s work on it together :)).
Package No.1 from my beautiful Father and Mother...boots, chocolates and gloves! Yay! thankyou xx :)
Package No.1 from my beautiful Father and Mother…boots, chocolates and gloves! Yay! thankyou xx 🙂
This week i saw Diondra ensign (one of the sister missionary trainers i was with on a Mini Mission at home in Perth, shes awesome!!)  Brandon Rigby and Karen & Nathan Griffen from Whakatane! And the Phillips 🙂 they are so sweet.  Its so nice to see a familiar voice and accent.
Merry Christmas to all until next time

with love

Sister Tata x

Leave a Reply

